Skip to main content

Dr. John D. Evans

Advisor, Center for Defense Concepts and Technology

John Evans is Chief Executive Officer of Carillon Technologies, a company pioneering new ways to align incentives between the Department of Defense and commercial investors, allowing DoD to unlock the potential of over $2 trillion annually in non-government R&D spending. Prior to Carillon he served as Corporate Vice President, Technology; Corporate Vice President, Business Innovation; and Vice President, International Engineering and Technology for Lockheed Martin Corporation. Prior to joining Lockheed Martin he served as Program Manager for the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA); worked as Chief Technical Officer for the West Coast venture-funded start-up Microfabrica; served as lead MEMS scientist for Becton Dickinson; and served as an energy policy researcher for the United States Congress Office of Technology Assessment (OTA).

Dr. Evans earned a Bachelor of Arts in physics from Carleton College; an Master of Science in civil engineering and a Doctor of Philosophy in mechanical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley; and an MBA from Duke University. He served on the Board of Trustees for the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), where he was instrumental in implementing a complete redesign of the Institute’s organization and governance. Similarly, he served as the Board of Directors of the Innovation Research Interchange (IRI), an 80-year-old organization focused on driving value creation in large organizations, where he was essential in overhauling that organization’s strategy and offerings. He has advised the Boy Scouts of America on issues related to innovation and STEM education. He is a member the ASME, a Senior Member of IEEE, and an Associate Fellow of AIAA, and a Senior Fellow at the Potomac Institute for Policy Studies (PIPS). Recognitions include the Maurice Holland Innovation Award; the Office of Secretary of Defense Medal for Exceptional Public Service; the DARPA Innovation Award; the Charles Lofgren Carleton College Alumni Business Fellowship; and the Becton Dickinson Special Achievement Recognition Award. He has been awarded thirteen United States patents.